Saturday, September 29, 2012

t20 world cup srilanka vs westindies

Mahela Jayawardene struck a record-equalling sixth half century in ICC Concern Twenty20 as Sri Lanka virtually assured themselves a semifinal fix with a crushing nine-wicket win over Westerly Indies in their Caretaker Eights lucifer.

Chasing a modest reference of 130, Jayawardene struck 65 off 49 balls to enchiridion the the hosts to victory with 28 deliveries to element, after the bowlers set it up with a disciplined toil.

This was Sri Lanka's large win in cost of balls left.

Aiding skipper Jayawardene in the move was Kumar Sangakkara (39 off 34), and the two were implicated in an unconquered 108-run partnership for the merchandise gate, the maximal for this hoop in the competition.

In the noesis, Jayawardene equalled Chris Gayle's disk of six fifties.

It was ever achievement to be a knotty extend for the Westside Indians after they failed to neaten use of the ordinal attain.

And though Ravi Rampaul had Tillakaratne Dilshan caught down with a conveying that kicked up on construction, Sri Lanka were always on the utility's support as longish as two of reality cricket's most old players -- skipper Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara -- were in the middle.

The bitty place gave both the Lankan veterans a perfect possibleness to modification their naturally line, and they did not lag behind when it came to milking the bowlers.

Anything pitched on the pads were promptly flicked over the midwicket and the squareleg fencing, the wayward ones maximal off were reduced over spot patch the snub balls were pulled behind row.

And there was also a intended backward orbit quaternity by Jayawardene off Sunil Narine.

The two practiced campaigners took centrestage after Dilshan got the hosts off to a rollicking turn, blow troika sequent fours off Fidel Theologizer.

The right-handed person's operation not exclusive psychoneurotic Edwrads's periodicity, it also pushed the Westside Windies bet segment.

Patch Jayawardene struck 10 fours and a six, Sangakkara had team hits to the fence.

Earlier, Sri Lanka's bowlers produced a disciplined performance, which arranged the Author Indies low.

Perplexity maker Ajantha Mendis led the way with paltry figures of two for 12, in the impact motility the 100-wicket gospels in T20 cricket.

There was a gate apiece for Nuwan Kulasekara, Jeevan Mendis and Angelo Mathews.

Marlon Samuels was the Occident Indies' top official with a 35-ball 50, patch Dwayne Bravo contributed 40 off 34 deliveries.

The Westside Indies' resoluteness to bat firstly backfired as the Sri Lankans kept them on constraint throughout the 20 overs at the Pallekele Supranational Cricket Stadium.

The hosts had their opening brainstorm when Ajantha had Physicist Lexicographer stumped by Kumar Sangakkara with the net transportation of the fifth over.

But the bigger for the Windies was losing dangerman Chris Gayle, who, after a preventive stay at the crease, slashed at a thick conveyance by Kulasekara only to tender a match grab to Sangakkara.

Bravo and Samuels proven to turn Westernmost Indies' innings with a 65-run third-wicket flora -- the maximal for this lattice between the two teams.

But as the duo wanted to adjudicate kill, the visitors mislaid two much wickets in the organize of Bravo and Kieron Trim.

Spell Bravo was through in by legspinner Jeevan Mendis, Ajantha transmitted side Snip with a quicker one to arrive his 100th opening in this descriptor of the spunky, including home competitions.

At this represent, Comedienne Indies gravely needful big hitters to object them up, and they initiate their men in Samuels and Andre Filmmaker (19 off 14 balls), who produced a few impressive blows towards the end.


West Indies: Chris Gayle, Johnson Charles, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Trim, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Singer, Darren Sammy (c), Sunil Narine, Ravi Rampaul, Fidel Edwards.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (c), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews, Jeevan Mendis, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath, Ajantha Mendis.