Wednesday, September 30, 2015

West Indies cannot be eligible for 2017 Champions Trophy

The declining fortunes of West Indies cricket hit an important low on Wednesday when the Caribbean team failed to qualifying for the 2017 Champions Trophy in England.
Limited to the world's top eight-ranked sides, the West Indies missed upon the lucrative event after slumping to ninth place on Wednesday's cut-off date.
Their failure to qualify marks the first time the West Indies will surely be missing from any of cricket's three big limited-overs events -- the 50-overs World Cup, the Champions Trophy and the Twenty20 World Cup.
West Indies are among just three teams to acquire captured all three titles, winning the 50-over World Cup in 1975 and 1979, the Champions Trophy in 2004 and the Twenty20 World Cup in 2012, though have fallen on tough time.
When the most dominant force in world cricket, West Indies have struggled in the recent past, affected by chaotic mismanagement and rows over player contracts.
Last year, West Indies abandoned their planned tour of India and just 48 hours ago, they suspended coach Phil Simmons after he criticised the selection policy for next month's tour to Sri Lanka.
Their spot in the 2017 Champions Trophy was effectively taken by Bangladesh, whose last appearance at the tournament was in 2006, although they finished seventh within the rankings, just just before Pakistan.
Australia, India, South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Pakistan also qualified, in addition to host-nation England, who were automatically granted a destination.
The 2017 Champions Trophy is going to take place from June 1-18, with the eight qualified teams separated into two pools of four, and of course the top two from each group advancing to the knock-out phase.

tag: west indies | icc | champions trophy | winner